How to Set Up Parental Controls for Messenger Rooms
Messenger Rooms is an Instagram tool that lets users video chat with up to 50 other people. Users can invite their friends to join the call by sharing a link with them, and they’ll be able to participate whether they have an Instagram account or not.
Learn more about how to create a Messenger Room from the Instagram app here.
There are two main ways to control access to Messenger Rooms. A user can lock their room to prevent new people from joining and remove individual participants from a room.
To lock your Messenger Room on iPhone or Android:
- From your Messenger Room, tap the lock icon in the top right corner to lock.
- Tap that same icon again if you wish to unlock the Messenger Room.
To remove a Messenger Room participant on iPhone or Android:
- From your Messenger Room, tap the icon with two people on it to see all the call participants.
- Then tap Remove next to the participant you would like to remove.
Understanding disappearing photos and videos
Instagram now incorporates the ability to send disappearing photos and videos, a feature inspired by Snapchat. This functionality is found in the Direct Message section. You can send a disappearing photo or video either as a group or individual message. After someone opens a disappearing photo or video you’ve sent them, the message is no longer visible in their inbox unless you’ve allowed a replay of your message.
Instagram recently released a new feature on its platform called “Reels.” You can use this feature to create fun,15-second videos and add audio and effects to share with your followers.
If your child’s account is public, they can share their Reels to a dedicated space on the Instagram Explore page where it can be seen and discovered by anyone on the platform. They can also choose to share their Reels with only their followers. And, if they use certain songs, hashtags, or effects on their Reel, it may appear on dedicated pages anyone can see for those categories.
If your child’s account is private, they can only share their Reels with approved followers, and other users will not be able to use original audio from your child’s Reels. Additionally, people can’t share your child’s Reels with others who don’t follow your child’s account.
Your child can see anyone’s Reels that are set to public and featured on the Explore page. Instagram has an algorithm to tailor Reel content based on what your child likes or watches.
How to view Instagram Reels:
- Open the Instagram app.
- At the bottom of your screen, press the magnifying glass icon to open the Explore page.
- Here, notice the top square, which is a video. This is how you access Reels.
- Tap on the video to expand it to full-screen size.
- Proceed to the next Reel by swiping up on your screen. An endless stream of Reels will continue to appear as long as you keep swiping up.
- On a specific Reel, to share or leave a comment, you can use the icons in the lower-left corner of the screen. You can comment by clicking on the speech bubble icon. You can like/favorite a video by clicking on the heart icon. You can share the Reel with someone else by clicking on the paper airplane icon.
Want to learn more?
Check out What Parents Need to Know About Instagram Monitoring.